I’m TNT, I’m dynomite

My fitness goals are not where I want them to be, and not for lack of effort. Except for last week, which was a wash, because Dave was sick, and, really, I had no excuse, but I stayed home with him anyway. Motivation central right here, dontcha know. This week Dave and I plan to get back on the treadmills. I am sort of disappointed with myself over last week, too; I was really starting to see improvements in my speed and pacing.

However, I don’t feel that it is enough to just join a gym, work out on a regular schedule, and eat healthier (which I already do – we’re whole grain and low-fat HQ in this apartment). Hence, I’m considering joining Team in Training (TNT). It is an organization that benefits the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. They offer coaches for marathons, half marathons, walks, triathalons, and road racing. In turn, you raise money for the society in order to participate in an event, and then you also Patient Honoree, a person whose life has been affected by blood cancer. 

Because I love philanthropic events ranging from the MS road races to Habitat for Humanity, I think the opportunity to train and run with Team in Training is my kind of way to both get in shape physically, but also benefit another person. It’s like Abraham Lincoln said, “It’s not the years in your life. It’s the life in your years.” 

I am excited to hear from TNT, and I am hoping to train for a half marathon (16 miles!) to start.

Leave a Reply

