Wet Run

I think there is nothing more liberating than taking a good, hard run through a storm.  The wind gusts in my direction, attempting to bully me and steer me off course.  The rain stings like pellets hitting my skin as I push through the falling sheets.  Puddles loom in an obstacle around gravel, concrete, sticks, and carcasses.  Thunder rumbles in every direction, shaking the ground and echoing like a sound stage.  Lightning sparks across the sky taunting me as I duck beneath trees and jump over divots in the road.  And just when I think I cannot run any longer under the weight of a soaked sweatshirt or bear the heavy footprints of water-logged shoes, my run ends and the sun shines through the sprinkles.

Leave a Reply

