Feudal Interest

Sometimes I feel as though I am tied to my job, perpetuating only the interests of others and never getting ahead.  My horizon has flattened for the moment – no mountains, no oceans, just flat parcels of normal stretching into oblivion.  Everyone keeps telling me to wait, opportunities are to come.

I am tired of sitting in the an open cubicle, strapped to an old chair, and plugged in to a transportation management system all day.  As an analyst, I want to do more than just sit and push buttons.  I want more than the drudgery of phone calls.  I want more than the same old-same old every single day.  I am bored and listless.  I want to reverse my position for something with a little less “tied to the land.”

I need a new challenge.   A new change.

3 thoughts on “Feudal Interest

  1. Go to your supervisor and tell them. Most likely your supervisor will think more highly of you for taking the initiative. You may end up having to work harder or do more, but at least you’re not bored.

  2. This feeling is called life. We are only here for about 77 years (70 if you are male), so try not to get too upset when you get this feeling. Statistically speaking, most of us will never get the chance to affect huge numbers of people, or to REALLY change the world, so the best we can hope for is to do our thing on a daily basis and try to have a positive impact on the tiny little world immediately around us. Who knows… maybe you have already had a positive impact on a relative, a friend, or maybe even a dog that nobody wanted. Remember… there is nothing wrong with having a ‘normal’ job… you may be a real hero to an individual or small group of people around you (or to that dog that nobody wanted).

    I guess what I am saying is… work is work. You will never get away from it. Enjoy the people and things that you surround yourself with outside of work.

    We don’t live so that we can work… we work so that we can live.

Leave a Reply

