Friends with Benefits

About 6 months ago, my company changed their health benefits elections. In my election, which is pretty fantastic for a whopping $40 per month, it lists that a person may only receive $2,000,000.00 worth of medical expenses within their lifetime. At least, so said my letter insulting me for using $40 of it to find out if the massive, very annoying and growing rash on my legs was actually poison ivy. (On a side note, I am one of those people that loves to try to self-diagnose myself. I insisted to everyone that I had impetigo, all while incorrectly pronouncing, also. Yep, it was flippin’ poison ivy.)

While this is humorous to note, it struck me that I only have coverage for my entire lifetime, minus my co-pays, of $2 million dollars. Millions of questions began to race through my head: “What if I get cancer? What if I have a stroke? What if I get Alzheimer’s?” Two million dollars suddenly became chump change in comparison with the cost of rehabilitating, curing, and maintaining lifestyles that diseases affect.

Upon folding the letter and returning it to its original envelope, I decided that the candidate I will vote for in 2008 better have a good plan for my $2 million. Actually, my $1,999,960.00.

2 thoughts on “Friends with Benefits

  1. You definitely need to see Michael Moore’s new movie. I don’t care if you don’t like his previous movies, Sicko is different. It squarely hits on your concerns. How can you put a price on health? And why does the self-proclaimed “most advanced nation in the world” still have a health care system from the dark ages?

Leave a Reply

