Semantics

Perhaps it is a consequence of attending law school, but I have noticed that more often than not, when others introduce me and explain I am in law school, they usually announce:

“This is Rachel. She’s studying to be a lawyer.”

Normally, I have no problem with this statement. It’s factually accurate. That is, until you throw in the crazy-ass accent found in Northeastern Ohio. Then, suddenly, it sounds like I am studying to be a LIAR.

And anyone that knows me well enough knows I cannot lie. It is not even a case that I am exceptionally honest. Plain and simple, I am a bad liar.

So, you can see the conundrum in the situation.

One thought on “Semantics

Leave a Reply

